Fantasy League / National Women's Soccer League

Doing pretty fine- Fantasy Shots Week 9

Last week went very well for me. I posted a season-high 115.5 pts and was 17th for that week. Having low expectations made it even better. I logged in thinking I’d have like 50 points so it was a great surprise. I generally don’t calculate my points before they’re released since 1) I already do too much math and 2) When I have tried I usually end up pretty far off from my actual points.

This week was really easy since there are more one-sided matchups.

This week’s games (All times EST)

6/6:  Boston Breakers at Washington Spirit, 7 p.m. ET
6/6: Chicago Red Stars at Western New York Flash 7 p.m. ET
6/6:  Portland Thorns at Houston Dash, 8:30 p.m. ET
6/6:  Sky Blue at Seattle Reign FC, 10 p.m. ET

Bye: FC Kansas City

I’m So Dunn

Week 8 points: 115.5 pts
Week 8 Rank: 17
Overall Points: 674 pts
Overall Rank: 39

FC Lake Placid

Week 8 points: 106 pts
Week 8 Rank: 55
Overall points: 659 points
Overall Rank: 54

Fantasy Shots Week 8 Leaderboard

  1. I’m So Dunn – 115.50 pts
  2. Washington Webfoots – 113.00 pts
  3. KellyG FC – 111.00 pts
  4. Fiveankles FC – 107.50 pts

Fantasy Shots Overall Leaderboard

  1. VfL Gringenfuss – 729.00 pts
  2. Fiveankles FC – 681.00 pts
  3. I’m So Dunn – 674.00 pts
  4. FC Lake Placid – 659.00 pts

Overall Point Leaders:

Goalkeepers:

B. Cameron- 71pts
N. Barnhart- 61 pts
M. Dalton- 57.5 pts
B. Henninger- 42 pts

Defenders:

T. Hemmingrs- 44 pts
A. LePeilbet- 42.5 pts
L. Robinson- 40 pts
R. Moros- 32.5 pts

Midfielders:

C. Dunn- 96.5 pts
A. Long- 66.5 pts
K. Mewis- 63.5 pts
C. Nairn- 60.5 pts

Forwards:

S. Huerta- 71 pts
C. Press- 60.5 pts
B. Yanez- 55 pts
M. Rapinoe-52.5 pts

Week 9:  I’m So Dunn 

Formation: 3-4-3

image

Goalkeepers: H. Kopmeyer (SEA)

Backup: M. Dalton (CHI)

Sky Blue, the offense that hasn’t scored more than a goal in a match this year, faces the Reign, the defense that shut down Huerta last week. Pretty easy call. Dalton is an excellent goalkeeper and Chicago’s defense is great, but the Flash have the tendency to surprise you and their offense is pretty speedy.

Defenders: L. Barnes (SEA), K. Fletcher (SEA), T. Hemmings (CHI)

Backup: A. Gilliland (CHI)

Barnes and Fletcher face a team that can’t score. The Reign held the China WNT to a goal and posted a clean sheet against Chicago last week, so Sky Blue isn’t looking too tough. My strategy last week of picking defenders from a variety of teams worked, but I think for this week this strategy will work better. Chicago faces the Flash who are improving, especially offensively, but the Chicago backline is solid, posting three clean sheets in seven matches. Don’t be overconfident though as the Red Stars’ backline has conceded 17 shots on goal in the past two games after conceding 23 in the previous five games combined.

Midfielders: C. Dunn#* (WAS), C. Nairn (WAS), A. Long (POR), K. Mewis# (BOS)

Backup: J. Fishlock (SEA)

Dunn is self-explanatory. Everytime she is my captain I’m happy about it so she remains my captain. The Breakers have been doing at well at home, but on the road against Washington will be a tough test (read: Dunn could easily score a lot of goals). Nairn will also have a good day against a midfield that consists of Kristie Mewis and not much else. Mewis leads the league in shots and the Spirit allow a shocking amount, especially for a team in second place. Long had an assist last week, but I’m hoping she shows her old form this week. Fishlock is my backup since her points per match is pretty impressive, especially considering her red card against Sky Blue. She does have a more favorable Fouls Suffered vs Committed compared to Vanessa DiBernardo so that’s why I picked her.

Forwards: S. McCaffrey (BOS), S. Huerta~ (CHI), B. Yanez (SEA)

Backup: J. McDonald (HOU)

All three of these starters are pretty easy picks. They are the leading fantasy points forwards who play this week and each of them  face weak defenses. With the exception of McCaffrey, each of my forwards averages at least a goal every two games. Despite having two goals, McCaffrey still does well in fantasy points. In Boston she’s stuck with often being in a more playmaking role and is the one who creates her own opportunities. I didn’t have McDonald last week when she missed her PK (got to keep up the Houston tradition I guess) but she faces the Thorns in Houston this week which seems like a recipe for a goal.

Leave a Reply

