National Women's Soccer League / Player Blogs / Western New York Flash

Kristen Edmonds reflects on Flash season: In a Nutshell

The number one question I get asked now that I am home is, “how was your season?” My answer varies depending on my mood. Sometimes I say it was ok, or it was good, or that we had our ups and downs. The truth is the Western New York Flash didn’t have a good season. If you look at what is on paper, it shows our record of 8-12-4, and then you do not see much more about the Flash for the rest of the season. One of my teammates was named to the second 11 for the season, in which I believe she deserved more, and two of my teammates were recognized for being player of the week during the season. Other than that, you see everything about all of the other teams. Finishing the season early and not making the playoffs is a big disappointment for anyone.

If you take the paper away and just talk, there was a lot more to this season than disappointment. When I signed with the Flash I was extremely happy. I got to play in the States for the first time as a professional and my friends and family were able to see me play live for the first time in my career. That was definitely one of the highlights of my career so far. I also got to play alongside some of the best players in the world. I played with 5 foreigners that will all be playing in the World Cup in 2015, and I also got to play alongside two of the best players in the world, Carli Lloyd and Abby Wambach. I loved my teammates and you can never erase the memories that are made throughout a season, and we definitely had some fun team moments on and off of the field as well. I will never forget this team and this season. Not only did I make a lot more friends, but I also learned a lot about myself and a player and as a person, and can take away a lot of positives to bring into next year.

We had a lot of talent and the ability to make it to the playoffs but just couldn’t pull it together as a team this year. You have to take the good with the bad, but looking forward I think the future for the Flash is bright, and we have really good players that can and will make more of an impact next season, as well as getting some new ones. This season it was like we were so close, but yet so far away from being nudged in a positive direction. We will turn things around next year and there is so much to look forward to including the Women’s World Cup. It will be a very exciting year for women’s soccer as a whole. I am excited to work hard and better myself as a player in this off season and I am looking forward to the 2015 NWSL season.

Leave a Reply

