National Women's Soccer League / Seattle Reign FC / Washington Spirit

Washington Spirit acquire defender Niki Cross

Cross trade

The Washington Spirit acquired defender Niki Cross today from the Seattle Reign in exchange for the Spirit’s 2015 second round pick.  Cross will join Washington after finishing her season at Bayern Munich in Germany’s Bundesliga in June.

The 28-year-old played in WPS in 2009-2011 for the St. Louis Athletica (2009, 2010) and Boston Breakers (2011) respectively.  She has previously played in Sweden (2008) and Norway (2011) before joining Bayern Munich for the 2012-13 season.  She made 22 starts totaling 1,953 minutes of action.

“I’m thrilled to be coming back to the states. I have truly enjoyed my time with Bayern Munich and greatly developed as a player but for me on a personal level, it was time to make a change. Joining Washington Spirit puts me in a great city that has always been strongly supported by its fans,” Cross said. “I’m looking forward to a new adventure. I haven’t played in the NWSL, so I’m excited to see how a lot of the players and teams have developed while I have been away. Being back state-side means my family will be able to attend games and I’m very excited about that. They have always supported my career.”

Leave a Reply

