National Women's Soccer League / Washington Spirit

Spirit Defender Marisa Abegg announces retirement

Washington Spirit defender Marisa Abegg announced her retirement on Friday.

“Marisa is a great player and a fantastic person and will be missed by all at the club,” General manager and head coach Mark Parsons said. Last season she answered the phone to me and the next day dropped everything and was on a plane to join us.”

Abegg played five matches after being signed by the Spirit in August.

“It was awesome. Fortunately I had a wonderfully talented and supportive group of women, coaches and staff that helped me along and made the transition relatively easy,” Abegg said.

Abegg previously played for FC Gold Pride, Gulf Cost Texans, DC United Women, Washington Freedom and Washington Spirit during her professional career throughout the WPS, WPSL Elite, WPSL and NWSL.

Abegg also played for Stanford during her college career.

“If I said anything less than incredible, I’d just be bluffing. I will admit, I was also terrified,” Abegg said. “Having played in WPSL and WPSL Elite for a few years, I had forgotten what the level was like at the top and didn’t know if I could hang.”

 

Leave a Reply

