National Women's Soccer League

NWSL Announces 2014 Allocations

NWSL LogoThe National Women’s Soccer League has announced the 2014 Allocation list for each of the nine clubs.

All of the United States and Canadian allocations that were rostered in 2013 stayed with their current clubs.

There was some shuffling amongst the Mexican representatives as Teresa Noyola headed to Houston from FC Kansas City, Dinora Garza moved from Chicago to Boston and Cecilia Santiago became the second allocated goalkeeper in Kansas City after seeing minimal playing time in Boston.

Rookies Jackie Acevedo and Arianna Romero were allocated to Portland and Seattle respectively.

The Houston Dash were allocated one player from each federation.  They will have the opportunity to select two additional American players during next week’s expansion draft (details forthcoming).

The Canadians feature four new faces in Chelsea Stewart, Rachel Quon, Jonelle Filigno and Selenia Iacchelli.

As expected all four Americans who have been playing in Sweden – Meghan Klingenberg, Whitney Engen, Christen Press, and Yael Averbuch – were allocated, as well as Seattle Reign FC defender Stephanie Cox being bumped to allocated status.

Below is the team-by-team breakdown:

Boston Breakers

Meghan Klingenberg (USA)*
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)*
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Christen Press (USA)*
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)*

Houston Dash

Whitney Engen (USA)*
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)*
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

FC Kansas City

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jackie Acevedo (MEX)*

Seattle Reign FC

Stephanie Cox (USA)*
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Arianna Romero (MEX)*

Sky Blue FC

Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)*
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit

Yael Averbuch (USA)*
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)

Western New York Flash

Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)*
Veronica Perez (MEX)

* = New Allocated Player

Check back later for a team-by-team analysis of each club’s allocations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s