Chicago Red Stars / Houston Dash / National Women's Soccer League

NWSL Allocation Picture Begins to Form

Allocation Speculation:

With the NWSL slated to announce the 2014 allocations on Friday, here’s what we know going into it:

Mexico is reportedly cutting their allocation numbers from 16 to eight for the 2014 season, despite the Houston Dash coming on as an expansion side last month.

Canada will allocate at least 16 players but is down to 13 players currently.  Former Sky Blue FC defender Melanie Booth announced her retirement on Nov. 13.  Emily Zurrer (SEA) has signed with Swedish club Jitex BK.

Then there is the case of FC Kansas City midfielder Desiree Scott.  The FA Women’s Super League’s Notts County announced Thursday that the club had signed the Canadian midfielder but reports have her listed as an NWSL allocation.

The United States are hoping to go from 23 to 27 allocated Americans for the 2014 season.  Several players from overseas are coming back in order to play at least part of the season in NWSL.

Christen Press, Meghan Klingenberg, and Whitney Engen will all be returning after their Champions League run with Tyreso end on May 22 at the latest.  Yael Averbuch will be returning for the entirety of the 2014 season.

Press previously played with magicJack during the 2011 WPS season in which she earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Klingenberg also played with magicJack in 2011 before being traded to the Boston Breakers.

Engen was drafted by the Chicago Red Stars in 2010 and played for the Western New York Flash in 2011 where she won a WPS title.  She spent time with Tyreso then Liverpool Ladies FC before going back to Tyreso in the fall.

How Houston fits in:

The Houston Dash will receive one allocated player from each federation (which would leave one of the eight remaining clubs without a Mexico allocation).  The remaining two American allocations will come in the expansion draft where each club will be able to protect two of their three (or four) U.S. allocations.

The Expansion Draft will take place on Jan. 10, per reports.  Additional details will be announced at a later date.

Current Allocation Picture:

Prior to Friday’s announcement, here’s what the allocation picture looks like:

Boston Breakers:

Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Rhian Wilkinson (CAN)
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Anisa Guajardo (MEX)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars:

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Erin McCleod (CAN)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Maribel Dominguez (MEX)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

FC Kansas City:

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Teresa Noyola (MEX)
Marylin Diaz (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC:

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Luz Saucedo (MEX)
Marline Sandoval (MEX)

Seattle Reign FC:

Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Jenny Ruiz (MEX)
Alina Garciamendez (MEX)

Sky Blue FC:

Jillian Loyden (USA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Nayeli Rangel (MEX)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit:

Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)
Teresa Worbis (MEX)

Western New York Flash:

Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Bryanna McCarty (CAN)
Jodi-Ann Robinson (CAN)
Veronica Perez (MEX)
Pamela Tojanar (MEX)

What’s unofficial right now:

Tomorrow will likely hold fewer surprises following a report from The Equalizer late Thursday night, which answered the biggest offseason allocation question:  Who would win the Christen Press lottery?

The answer?  The Chicago Red Stars.  Chicago will also reportedly receive Rachel Quon (CAN).  Quon played in the U.S. Youth national team system before crossing over to play for Canada in 2013.

Houston will reportedly see Melissa Tancredi (CAN) and Whitney Engen (USA) in Dash orange and blue this season.  Boston’s open USA slot will go to Meghan Klingenberg.

Yael Averbuch will head to the Washington Spirit and Seattle Reign defender Stephanie Cox will also be allocated.  The allocation of Cox brings the Reign up to four allocated players from the United States.

The NWSL will officially announce the 2014 allocations on Friday, Jan. 3 at 11am ET/10am CT

Check back to Nutmeg Incorporated tomorrow for complete coverage, including team-by-team analyses of each club’s allocation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s