National Women's Soccer League

Fantasy Shots: Week 13

Hi, my name is Lauren, and I left 64 points on my bench this week!
I blame the last-minute change from Lloyd to Chalupny, but really, Carli Lloyd is so unpredictable that I can’t even be surprised that this happened. Knowing me, now that she’s in my lineup for Week 13, she’ll have a goose-egg or negative points.

Normally, this is where I would recap the week, but I’ve decided this week to tone down the Fantasy Shots (see below for the reason!). I still love you all who read this, and next week will be better, I hope (though now that the racing season is about to start, things are going to get wildly busy on my end! I’ll do my best!
Thanks to the unbearable heat and insanely busy and exhausting week I had, this version of Fantasy Shots is going to be slimmed down a little. I hope to do better next week!

llyod

Top Four Point Leaders in each position for Week 11:

Goalkeepers: H. Solo (SEA), N. Barnhart (FCKC), A. Franch (WNY), A. Naeher (BOS)

Defenders: L. Robinson (FCKC), M. Mathias (FCKC), B. Taylor (WNY), M. Wenino (CHI)

Midfielders: C. Lloyd (WNY), L. Cheney (FCKC), E. Tamryk (FCKC), M. Nogueiera (BOS)

Forwards: S. Leroux (BOS), M. Ocampo (SBFC), J. McDonald (SEA), I. Grings (CHI)

chalupny-7.4.13-560x360

Lori Chalupny scores the game-winner to help upset WNY 1-0.

FC Lake Placid: Week 12 Team (*denotes captain, #denotes allocated)

Formation: 4-4-2

Points Earned: 166

Week 12 standing: 170

Overall Standing: 116 (up 5 places from Week 11)

Goalkeeper: H. Solo# (SEA)

Defenders: A. Sahlen (WNY), L. Robinson (FCKC), K. Johnson (SBFC), B. Taylor (WNY)

Midfielders: L. Cheney*# (FCKC), M. Rapinoe# (SEA), C. Nairn (SEA), L. Chalupny (CHI)

Forwards: D. Adams (SBFC), A. Wambach# (WNY)

Week 13 Schedule:

All times listed in ET

All teams play this week, with Washington and Western New York playing twice.

Lauren Cheney will not be avaliable for FC Kansas City’s match, as she is getting married! Best wishes to Lauren and Jrue!

Cheney's tweet following the National Team game on 6/24 (where she scored a goal).

Cheney’s tweet following the National Team game on 6/24 (where she scored a goal).

Sophie Schmidt is out due to a red card.

I’m tempted to leave Cheney on my lineup for Week 13, because I’m fairly sure she will probably gain points even on her honeymoon. Alas, logic prevails.

SydcelebrationvSBFC

Sydney Leroux celebrates her eighth goal of the season.

With the league being in such a state of unpredictability as far as games and player performances, this week is going to have a lot of unpredictability. Western New York, for example, had a decisive 4-0 victory over Washington Spirit, but was upset by Chicago a few days later. Players like Sydney Leroux and Carli Lloyd have proven that they are either red-hot or ice-cold in their performances, and as such are wreaking havoc on fantasy owners (myself included).

Picks for Week 13 (*denotes captain/~denotes vice-captain/#denotes allocated player)

Formation: 4-4-2

Goalkeeper: B Cameron (SBFC)
B. Cameron: Not having an allocated spot to use on McLoed or Solo, I went with Cameron over Franch, mainly because I think even without Cheney, FCKC loos the stronger team than the Flash.

WATCH LIST: A. Franch (WNY), E. McLeod (CHI), H. Solo (SEA)

Defense: L. Robinson (FCKC), S. Fuss (CHI), A. Sahlen (WNY), B. Taylor (WNY)

L. Robinson (FCKC): Solid. Points each week.

S. Fuss (CHI): Hasn’t seen much, but she’s done enough that I’d choose her over others.

A. Sahlen (WNY): After last week, yes. Two games this week, so double the chances.

M. Dougherty (POR): Tricky matchup, but if they can get back to early-season form, I like her chances.

WATCH LIST: M. Mathias (FCKC), R. Buehler (POR)

Midfielders: C. Lloyd# (WNY), L. Chalupny (CHI), E. Tymrak (FCKC), M. Rapinoe# (SEA)

C. Lloyd# (WNY): If Murphy’s Law occurs this time, I’ll never use her again, despite my better judgement. On fire last round, nada Week 11.

L. Chalupny (CHI): Another game-winning goal, the only one for Chicago. Gotta take the chance again because she makes things happen.

E. Tymrak (FCKC): Without Cheney, FCKC will need someone to get forward, and Tymrak has been doing so.

M. Rapinoe# (SEA): Tough matchup, but she’s known for making things happen.

WATCH LIST: H. O’Reilly# (BOS), C. Sinclair# (POR)

Forwards: A. Wambach#* (WNY), M. Ocampo# (SBFC)

A. Wambach (WNY): A dud in the last round. Probably itching to score, and has two chances to do so. Could tear apart Seattle’s weak defense.

M. Ocampo (SBFC): Hard to say if she’ll get the playing time with DeVanna likely back in the lineup, but she’s been looking good.

WATCH LIST: L. DeVanna (SBFC), S. Leroux (BOS), A. Morgan (POR)

4 thoughts on “Fantasy Shots: Week 13

  1. Thank you Lauren. I love reading your fantasy shots! You give your opinions based on the stats. Now I will recheck my lineup to see if I need to make some changes!

  2. I have a couple comments- Sophie Schmidt will be out this weekend for the red card. Also, everyone may want to check on Marian Dougherty’s status – according to Richard Farley the other day, she only rode a bike at practice, but I have not seen an injury report yet to know whether she is playing or not. Nice website- thanks.

  3. I see that Lisa DeVanna is currently playing against France with Australian national team (with K. Simon of Boston), C. Foord is over there as well but is injured. Just to let everyone know in case you were thinking of using these players.

Leave a Reply

