National Women's Soccer League / Player Blogs

International Postcard: Halfway Around the World

My name is Beverly Goebel and I currently play for Inac Kobe Leonessa in Kobe, Japan. I played two seasons in the WPS with Washington Freedom in 2010 and WNY Flash in 2011. This is now my second season here in Japan and I just recently hit the one year mark! Making the move to Japan to learn the Japanese style of soccer, has been a challenging one but so very important to my growth as a player and person.

bio pic

(Photo courtesy of Inac-Kobe.com)

Learning a new style of soccer and adapting to a new culture was very hard at first. The language barrier in particular was extremely overwhelming at first but over time I have grasped the understanding of some common words that are used on and off the field. I can currently formally speak with my teammates, friends and staff. Although I wish I knew more Japanese, it seems as though I cannot learn fast enough.

with teammates1With some of her teammates (L-R) Goebel, Nahomi Kawasumi, Ryoko Takara and Asuna Tanaka)

(Photo courtesy of Beverly Goebel)

being interviewedBeing interviewed after a match

(Photo courtesy of a fan)

In Japan it is important you speak to elders with respect. Therefore the way you chat with friends and younger people would be different than how you would chat with people who are older than you. The verb forms change depending on who you are speaking to. This was very hard at first, but I am really enjoying trying to use the language correctly. I think it is awesome there is this understanding that if the person is older they must be spoken to with respect.

family visitGoebel’s family recently came to visit her in Japan

(Photo courtesy of Beverly Goebel)

Also, simple things like a trip to the grocery store or traveling can be very difficult. Not being able to ask what stop I should get off at, or what some food ingredients are can sometimes make these seemingly easy tasks very stressful. Overall the cultural differences have really changed me and made me a more well rounded person. There are things that I have learned here in this culture I plan to take back with me and continue to follow. The soccer has been amazing, learning this new style is something I hope to continue to grow with and share with others. This experience is something I will never forget and I plan to enjoy it for as long as I can!

celebrating a goalCelebrating a goal

(Photo courtesy of a fan)

sada suits promoPoster for Inac-Kobe’s 2013 sponsor Sada Suits

(Photo courtesy of Inac-Kobe.com)

Looking back I’m so thankful for the opportunity to play in Japan with such an amazing team. Pursuing the knowledge of the Japanese style of soccer has been very rewarding is so many different ways, although being away from family has been the hardest. I’m meeting new people who I hope to be friends with forever and I’m experiencing a style and culture that I have absolutely fell in love with.

japanese wedding

Goebel’s teammates threw her and her husband a surprise traditional Japanese style wedding for their one year anniversary

(Photo courtesy of Goebel’s teammate)

Beverly Goebel is a midfielder currently playing for Inac Kobe Leonessa in Japan.  She played two seasons in WPS, playing for the Washington Freedom in 2010 and for the 2011 WPS Champions Western New York Flash.  She also contributes to Pitchside Report and One World Sports.  You can follow her on Twitter and Instagram.

All photos were provided by Beverly Goebel

Leave a comment