National Women's Soccer League

NWSL Allocations Announced

The National Women’s Soccer League announced today where the 55 allocated players will call home amongst the league’s eight teams:  Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and Western New York Flash.  The United States, Canadian and Mexican Soccer Federations will subsidize these players salaries (23 from the United States and 16 each from Canada and Mexico).

Each team received three players representing the United States (except for Western New York who received two) and two each from Canada and Mexico.

Joining the Boston Breakers are:

Sydney Leroux (USA)
Heather Mitts (USA)
Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Rhian Wilkinson (CAN)
Anisa Guajardo (MEX)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Going to the Chicago Red Stars are

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Keelin Winters (USA)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Maribel Dominguez (MEX)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

Heading to FC Kansas City are

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Cheney (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)
Marylin Diaz (MEX)

Representing the Portland Thorns are

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Luz Saucedo (MEX)
Marlene Sandoval (MEX)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)

Joining the Seattle Reign are

Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Emily Zurrer (CAN)
Jenny Ruiz (MEX)
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

Heading to New Jersey’s Sky Blue FC are

Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Melanie Booth (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)
Lydia Rangel (MEX)

Going to the Washington Spirit are

Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Lori Lindsey (USA)
Robin Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Alina Garciamendez (MEX)
Teresa Worbis (MEX)

Representing the Western New York Flash are

Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Bryana McCarthy (CAN)
Jodi-Ann Robinson (CAN)
Veronica Perez (MEX)
Pamela Tajonar (MEX)

The teams will have the opportunity to select from some of the top collegiate talent in the United States on January 18, 2013 at the NSCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

You can follow the National Women’s Soccer League on twitter @NWSL or visit


3 thoughts on “NWSL Allocations Announced

  1. So who do you think was helped the most by the allocation and which players do you predict each team will pursue to fill out their respective rosters?

  2. Pingback: NWSL Allocations: Team by Team Analysis | Nutmeg Incorporated

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s